New Year Honours’ List 2015

Powell Dobson Architects is thrilled to hear that Ann-Marie Smale, director, has been awarded an MBE in the New Year Honours List 2015 for services to Education and Training in Construction in Wales.

Ann-Marie, a graduate of the Welsh School of Architecture, joined Powell Dobson in 1996. She returned to the School as a teacher and more recently as an assessor for various year groups at key project stages. In 2004 she was appointed a member of the Design Commission for Wales as a result of her enthusiasm, passion and commitment to architecture, design and construction. From 2004 until 2012 at the DCfW she assisted in the review and contribution of many projects undertaken in Wales using her skill and knowledge. In 2009 Ann-Marie became a member of the Welsh Construction Skills Group, and in 2010 was appointed to the position of Chair of the Professional Services Sector Group in Wales. In 2011 she was appointed for a two year term as a member of the Construction Sector Panel which advises Welsh Government and then she was re-appointed to the panel in 2013 for a further term.

CIC Chief Executive, Graham Watts said, “I am so delighted that Ann-Marie’s remarkable and selfless work on behalf of the construction professions in Wales has been recognised. Ann-Marie revitalised the CIC in Wales when she assumed the chairmanship, building excellent relationships with the Welsh Government and the CITB.”

Speaking after the announcement Ann-Marie said: “I am honoured to receive this award. I have thoroughly enjoyed giving something back to the industry and helping develop the new generations coming through. I have been very lucky that my practice, Powell Dobson Architects, has been so supportive of my wider role in the industry and that it has encouraged my involvement with both the CIC and CITB.”